Skype is something I am very familiar with. I used it to organize the building of our museum back in 2010. It was the first time I realized that technology was going to change education forever, especially for my children, and someday grandchildren. Also, I skyped several parent teacher conferences with parents that had a very difficult work schedule, or conflicts. Skype can be used to communicate simple things to other teachers. Instead of leaving your classroom to ask something you can you just Skype them. However, I’m not sure I trust second grade with Skype. It is a powerful tool, but like all technology could have negative effects. However, I think it would be a great idea as a summarizing the lesson activity to Skype with another 2nd grade class what they  learned in the lesson. Also, instead of pen pals we could Skype another district once a week. The possibilities are endless.

